Jane Austen: A summary in opinions

Plus it is nearly 3 AM and I am very bored.
1. Favorite Austen heroine.
Emma Woodhouse. Clearly. I just love the Emma’s transformation seems the most self-motivated of all the heroines. Mr. Knightley points out her faults, but only when she wants to change and even when she believes she has no chance with Mr. Knightley she wants to be a better person, without his validation.

Plus she is so judgmental, which I identify with too much for my own good.

2. Favorite Austen man.
I would want to marry Mr. Knightley. But I really like to read…eh, Mr. Knightley. I am sorry that I am so one sided! I just can’t see any faults in Mr. Knightley. My second favorite man is probably Mr. Hurst, Mr. Bingley’s brother in law because he is so funny. Or Mr.Woodhouse, also hilarious.

3. Favorite Austen book.
Emma.

4. Favorite quote from the books.
It is such a happiness when good people get together—and they always do. by the adorable Miss Bates in Emma
or
Certainly silly things do cease to be silly if they are done by sensible people in an impudent way by Emma

5. Favorite moment in the books.
When the narrator reveals that the Perry children partook in the wedding cake

6. Favorite movie adaptation.
My first–the 1996 version of Emma with Gwenyth Paltrow and Jeremy Northam. 1. Gwenyth’s dress at the Oscar’s is the reason I love Austen, 2. to me, Jeremy Northam IS Mr. Knightley, 3. and while they romanticize the relationship too early it has the best soundtrack, Harriet and other secondary characters I have ever seen.

7. Favorite Austen couple.
Other than…Emma and Mr. Knightley…I really like Mr. and Mrs. Bennett. I think they are so cute and funny is the way they speak to one another. Or Elinor and Edward. I like how they show that Jane’s books aren’t all about lovey-dovey gooey love. Sometimes they are really just about people, who usually happen to fall in love.

8. Least favorite couple.
Henry Tilney and Catherine Morland. He is so condescending and I had such trouble liking him!

9. Most hated foe of a heroine.
Lucy Steele. I hate that she abuses her privilege of confidence so much with Elinor. Irks me every time.

10. Most frustrating family member.
Maria Bertram.

11. Least favorite book.
Northanger Abbey, but I haven’t read Persuasion in a while.

12. Least favorite Austen heroine.
Catherine Morland

13. Least favorite Austen man.
of the “good” guys: Henry Tilney, of the bad guys: Willoughby.

14. Favorite love confession from the books.
“If I loved you less, I’d be able to talk about it more”

15. Favorite love confession from the films.
I feel so unlike a purist, but when Darcy confesses his love in the 2005 Pride and Prejudice. WHATEVER, it makes for good movies. Either the rain scene or the one in the field. I love the both. AND GUESS WHAT? I like Matthew Macfadyn better as Darcy too. Colin Firth is too clean and always looks like he has something in his mouth. But I still love Colin.

16. Least favorite film adaptation.
Cinematically, the BBC ones aren’t that awesome. But they are good for plot and dialog. And while 2005 P&P is a crappy mirror image of the book, I think JA fans need to look at the movies separately from the books.

17. Moment that made you sad/cry while reading.
I don’t know if I’ve ever cried during a JA novel.

18. Moment that made you smile/happy while reading.
Every time Mr. Woodhouse opens his mouth. Or when Edmund falls in love with Fanny.

19. Moment that made you laugh while reading.
Every time Mr. Woodhouse/Mr. Collins speak

20. Moment that made you mad while reading.
Most of the times Henry Tilney speaks.

21. Favorite Jane Austen-related photo.
Can’t find a good picture of it. But my favorite screen shot is potentially when Mr. Darcy flexes his hand after he helps Elizabeth get into the carriage in the 2005 film.

22. Favorite Austen female casting decision.
Kate Winslet as Marianne Dashwood
She is so young and romantic and wonderful!

23. Favorite Austen male casting decision.
Alan Cumming as Mr. Elton
No one does smarm better.

24. Favorite supporting character.
SO MANY: Mr. Woodhouse, Harriet Smith, Frank Churchill, Miss Taylor, Miss Bates (do. you. see. a. pattern?) Also, I really like Mrs. Jennings in S&S

25. Favorite family connection (i.e. sister-sister, mother-daughter, brother-sister, etc.)
Emma and her father, the one thing I liked about Northanger Abbey is James and Catherine Morland’s relationship

26. Favorite casting cameo from the films.
I don’t think this is a cameo, but Hugh Laurie in S&S.

27. Favorite quote from the films.
“A picnic. At Delaford” (hat sweep!)-Colonel Brandon, Sense and Sensibility
“the Nile is in Abyssinia!-Margaret Dashwood

” I do not profess to be an expert in the field of fashion (though my friends say I have quite the eye) but I can tell you, there is a shocking lack of satin! ” Mrs. Elton, Emma

28. Favorite moment from the films.
I like the long opening shot of Pride and Prejudice 2005. It is a pretty cool way to look at the family, and see immediately where the center of life is.
OR
When Mr. Knightley and Emma are arguing about Harriet and Mr. Martin’s potential engagement and after she shots a misplaced arrow he says “try not to kill my dogs”

29. Character you most relate to
I think that is pretty clear that is Emma Woodhouse. An important part of that book is realizing what faults you have, and I share a lot of my faults with Emma. I always thought Lizzie too selfish for me to identify with her really. Emma’s problem is that she can observe others, but cannot see her own feelings truthfully, or use her feelings to understand others. Eleanor is too staid, and Marianne is too concerned with marriage. Also a great thing about Emma is that she doesn’t WANT to get married. Sure, she is financially stable, but she shows that a woman could imagine herself with a life without a man and be happy. Other novels aren’t as clear about the fact that women could be happy without men, if only they could receive some money.

Emma is just the best and that is the rest I am going to say.

Leave a comment

Filed under British, Hobbies, Literature

Leave a Reply

