Dali: The Late Work

I’ve seen some pretty cool exhibits at the High Museum of Art, others kind of sucked. Like Year One of The Lourve Atlanta was amazing because I got to see a Velazquez, a Rembrant, and a lot of Durer pencil drawings. Plus a lot of cool historical busts. Year Two and Year Three weren’t as impressive. Recently, Leonardo: The Hand of Genius was kind of dull. It was too small for the space provided, especially in relation to the fact that most of the drawings were super tiny. The art really got lost and I got frustrated about the layout.

That was not the case with the Dali exhibit. There is so much to see! I was never super interested in Dali; I learned the most about him from studying the other surrealists like Magritte.

My absolute favorite part of the exhibit was off in this little nook. It was a series of prints that Dali did for an illustrated Don Quixote. The High purchased them as part of the show so hopefully they will become a part of the permanent collection. Dali combined super detailed drafting with imprecise bullet painting where he would fill a musket ball with paint and shoot it at the panel. Also he painted some large marks with a rhino horn, a favorite symbol of Dali.  They were just phenomenal.

Definitely check out the exhibit and the little room on the side near the end!

2 Comments

Filed under Art

2 responses to “Dali: The Late Work

  1. Kate

    Have you heard this Kearney legend?

    Once my mom was in NYC with Grandma Anne. I don’t know what year, but I’d guess it was in the mid 60s, when my mom was in college. Anyhow, they bumped into Salvador Dali, who had an entourage with him, including a black panther on a leash. He invited my mom to a party and said with this long drawl, “cloooothing optional.”

    Anne said, “absolutely NOT.”

  2. I have never heard that story!
    But it did get a chuckle from the art history students I was hanging out with in the library!

Leave a Reply

