summer of productivity: update one

If you read my originial blog post about my first reasonable goal of the summer it was a pretty simple goal: reread all of Jane Austen’s novels. My first to tackle was Pride and Prejudice, which other than my biennial reading of Emma, was my most recent reading of an Austen work in senior AP Literature. I am about half way done and I have some observations.

  • How awesome is Mr. Hurst? Too awesome. Oh okay, not really. But I love how he is a completely useless character. He and his wife were completely taken out of the 2005 movie version of P&P. He provides no plot point. None. He doens’t even give vital information from one character to another like Fitzwilliam who is insturmental in Elizabeth finding out more about Darcy’s true nature (or so she thinks). Mostly this man plays card and sleeps on sophas. Completely useless and completely awesome.
  • I don’t know if Lizzy’s rejection of Mr. Collins and Mr. Darcy is really in character. True she hates foolishness, so  Mr. Collins makes sense. But she is quick witted and cares about her family. Mr. Darcy could provide well for her entire family. Even if at the time she is banking on a proposal from Wickham, he is a lowly foot soldier and would barely be able to provide for Elizabeth. I think it would be more believable if Wickham had some other prospects. Like maybe lies to Elizabeth about the possibility of securing a new rectory position.
  • I highly recommend the newer annotated edition from 2007 with notes by David M. Shapard.

I think I am going to finish my notes and reading of P&P tonight and start on Emma, which I just got the Norton Critical Edition of. Whoo

2 Comments

Filed under Literature

2 responses to “summer of productivity: update one

  1. Stephan

    Thanks for the recommendation for the annotated edition – Pride and Prejudice is next on my reading list after I finish with Wuthering Heights.

  2. (found your blog on 20SB :D)

    Good point on the Mr. Darcy rejection. But if you think about it, Elizabeth’s pride is a big part of who she is, and I think if she had accepted Mr. Darcy’s rather critical proposal, she would have been sacrificing too much of her dignity. Agreeing to marry him = agreeing that she’s inferior and all?

    My favorite character (besides Lizzy) would have to be Mr. Bennett 🙂

Leave a Reply

