identity crisis

Weird things are going on up in my brain. It is nearly three AM when I am starting this post, what else is supposed to happen?

This blog’s official title is “miss woodhouse: the english major.” Technically I’m not even an English major yet, sense I deferred declaring until I had time to fill out those annoying little major declaration cards, which was not going to happen in the midst of two research papers (A and B+ whoo!) But I feel like I’ve been preparing to be an English major all my life. Even when I thought I would major in History or the crazy three weeks when I thought I would go to UGA to study botany and soil science (my guilty intellectual pleasure), I always came back to English Lit. There’s never been anything I’ve loved more.

The closest I ever came to switching was with Classics and my hatred of translation and inability, after four years, to remember exactly what the ablative does squashed that dream. I’ve mentioned on here before that I am planning on double majoring in Art History but that was because I can. I came into Agnes with a whole semester’s worth of AP credits, and I do better when I take five classes instead of four, so it makes sense to try and get the most out of my college education and double major. But Art History has never been a part of my identity. That’s why I’ve never considered changing the blog title to “miss woodhouse: the english and art history major.”

But now I am looking down the road at the rest of my life and in five, ten, fifteen years, I see myself using my Art History degree more, working in design for PR or advertising, or in a museum. So should I start identifying as an Art History major first and then an English Lit major? I don’t know. Once again my penchant to plan to exaggerated lengths is causing lose of sleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, College

Leave a Reply

