new book purchases

I love summer. I always feel like I buy a lot of books during the summer. Especially paper back books that feel like they have a powder on the cover that never rubs off, opposed to the shiny ones. It is hard to explain, but those are the books I like to read in the summer. So today I got two books: Descartes’ Bones: A Skeletal of the Conflict between Faith and Reason by Russell Shorto and Brunelleschi’s Dome: How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture by Ross King. Possessive nouns and titular colonicity FTW?

My mom picked by the Descartes book, and I was interested in it primarily because of my obsessive relationship with the Fox shows Bones, which is super smart and features a Deschanel sister and the gorgeous David Boreanaz, what’s not to love? But it is on summer hiatus, so my need of anthropological studies of bones is not being fulfilled. I read the preface of the book today and it seems to be going in the direction of the art and literature books I wrote about liked, where authors look at one painting, one book, or in this case one skeletal system, track its history and figure out something about the outreaching influence of that one object.

The second book is about something is much more clearly influential. Brunelleschi INVENTED linear perspective. But that isn’t even the coolest thing he ever did. He made the largest brick dome in history…without concrete. I mean that is just cool. Plus I love the Florentines! If the Medicis love you, I love you. And Brunelleschi had the cutest Florentine nose.

The Duomo of Florence, and Brunelleschi's Dome

1 Comment

Filed under Other Readings

One response to “new book purchases

  1. Il Duomo. Mi piace il duomo. é bello!

Leave a Reply

